New dates coming soon.
Click BOOK NOW to see all available adventure trips and dates from Outdooraholics.
Come and join us for an adventure starting at the County Town of Surrey and taking us into the Surrey Hills - designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
- Visit the picture postcard St Martha's church on top of an isolated hill
- Visit Guildford - Surrey's most significant ancient town with Saxon roots
- Discover the beautiful Surrey countryside which is an officially designated Are of Outstanding Natural beauty and see for yourself why Lewis Carroll - author of Alice in Wonderland, Jodie Kidd, Alan Turin, Terry Jones (the Monty Python writer) and Yvonne Arnaud
- Visit the enchanting ruins of the 12th century St Catherine's Chapel
- Follow the dream and meandering River Wey as it gently flows past willow trees through rural Surrey
Guildford is a town dating back to Saxon times that was once home to the Royal Mint. Guildford is best known for being a picturesque and quaint market town near London, but the countryside has far more to offer than most visitors discover beyond the cobbled streets and historical buildings. Famous past and current residents include Lewis Carroll - author of Alice in Wonderland, Jodie Kidd, Alan Turin, Terry Jones (the Monty Python writer) and Yvonne Arnaud
Once in Guildford we’ll walk along the picturesque River Wey canal, past the boat houses (and my old rowing club) and onto the optional detour to see the ruin of St Catherine's church. We'll then progress onto the Woods where we’ll join the ancient North Downs Way path along a ridge which has far reaching views. At the top of the hill we’ll come to the remote and isolated St Martha’s church (where a church has stood since Saxon times). From here there are spectacular views to the south – as far as the South Downs by Brighton and indeed on a clear day you can see eight counties from this point. We’ll then go onto Chilworth which was home to an extensive gunpowder factory since 1626, although it was closed in 1920 and is now an enchanting derelict site covering 27 acres with much to see including relics, tramways and buildings from it’s nearly 400 year history.